Where to Begin

Scott Kalwei
3 min readJun 2, 2021

--

So I’ve been trying to think about how I should go about learning more about crypto. I’ve been invested and will continue to be invested but I feel like that isn’t what I want to get out of this new blockchain revolution. I really would like to have an impact. I’d like to learn more about the tech and maybe even have some kind of influence. I don’t want to become a thought leader or anything major like that. I just want to be a part of the revolution in whatever small way that I can.

So really, this is just an article intended for an audience of one. If you’re reading this, I’m sorry, but you’re not that audience. The audience I’m looking for is me and me alone. I want to put this out into the ether and be able to look back at it and smile. To say to myself that I figured it out and that I accomplished what I wanted.

So what is it that I want? Do I want to make some killer dApp that millions of users are going to flock to? No, not really. Do I want to build at the protocol layer and build some obscene TVL that I can show off and monetize? Probably not. Or do I want to build a following and blog about it to become an influencer that actually makes a difference in something that I care about? Who knows!? Maybe I want to do a combination of all of the above.

So how do I go about accomplishing a goal that is so ill defined? Well I guess I’ll just start taking baby steps until I have a better defined goal. Since I don’t know if I want to do this to become an influencer of any kind, I figured I could write about it as I progress. I figured that would help me keep level headed and goal orientated no matter what direction I end up going in.

So I think my first goal will be to deploy my own Gnosis multisig and see if I can deploy some crypto assets through it. Deploy first on a testnet and try to make some multi step transactions to get a feel for it before deploying to mainnet. Once deployed on mainnet I’d like to help some friends and family by maybe helping to control and deploy some of their assets as well.

After that I’d like to design my own ERC token and deploy to testnets and perform some transactions with it through the aforementioned multisig. I think this will better help me understand the tech behind how the ethereum network works, as well as the work involved in deploying these assets. It would also help me better understand the investments that I’ve made by being able to better understand the smart contracts with which they’re governed.

Another goal would be to mint some of my own NFT’s on several different platforms. I believe NFT’s will become increasingly important over time as real world assets are governed and controlled on chain. I’m not much of a cultural or art enthusiast which is what this space seems to be mostly about currently. So I’d be minting NFT’s from the perspective of how to govern real world assets on chain as opposed to the cultural side of minting art.

In tandem with all of the above I’d like to explore side hustles within the crypto ecosystem. How do I go about making money in this environment? I’d like to explore working for a DAO and getting involved in governance. I’m a small owner of several DAO tokens and would like to get more involved or to take on roles for DAO’s that are paying for specific job functions. I’d even like to look into working for a DAO or crypto focused company by taking on whatever side jobs that I can in my free time. Whether that may be; marketing, community governance, or whatever it is that I feel that I’m qualified to do.

After all of that, I feel that I’ll have gained enough exposure within the industry to have a better defined goal for what it is that I’d like to achieve in this ecosystem. Because I really do believe that crypto is the future. The monetary and organizational advancements that have been unlocked by this new technology seem to be much larger than the vast majority of people seem to understand. If I get my head wrapped around it and figure out my path, I believe I’ll be able to transition my career to be more involved in the space. This is my goal and that is my outline. Now is the time to execute.

--

--